February is Yoga Month!

IMGP0403

This month I am challenging myself to do yoga every day.

It’s a great practice to have, especially if you have a job like mine where you sit at a desk for 8 hours straight, it’s a great way to stretch out and relieve those tight muscles while building strength and flexibility at the same time.

I have done a little yoga in the past but not a lot, as a blossoming yogi I feel like there are huge benefits to taking a class. The teacher can help you correct your form and help you get into a deeper stretch or challenge you with a more advanced version of a position. Unfortunately with the upcoming wedding, money is a little tight and my time is definitely in demand so at this point it’s easier for me just to do it at home with Youtube, which is a great resource. You can find so many different free videos.

One thing I love about yoga is that it’s so chill, it’s not super high intensity or crazy so it’s perfect for those morning you just don’t feel like working out or you’re feeling lazy. It’s not hard to just do a little downward dog in the morning, and once you start you easily can just continue and move through it. You can do a long yoga session or a short 15 – 20 minute session. You can do stretchy yoga or yoga that requires more strength and challenges the muscles more. Yoga is for everyone!

Three days in and I feel so great and am excited to do more!

February 1st I tried The Joyful Power Yoga Routine – I enjoyed it but it was only an instructional with pictures and I found it a lot harder to follow along as I’m not very familiar with the poses it was a lot of stopping at looking at the computer and then getting back to it.

Sunday, February 2, I did Hip Enough? that I found on YogaJournal.com, I sit a lot at work and that really tightens up your hips so I like to take the time to stretch them out and open them up. It was really good and I will probably include this again during the month.

IMGP0433

Today, I did Day 1 of DoYouYoga.com’s 30 Day Yoga Challenge. Day 1 really focused on opening up the hips and stretching them out and it only took about 20 minutes. I think I will be following along with the rest of the challenge throughout February. Check it out on YouTube if you want to follow along with me! Day 2 is all about stretching out the shoulders and upper back.

Also I’m really excited about trying some “Bedtime” Yoga tonight. I don’t know if that’s an actual thing but as I was searching videos this morning and came across morning energizer yoga I thought ‘they must have bedtime yoga too’ and they do!  I’ve been so tired lately, maybe taking some time to do yoga before bed (and not watch TV) will help me get into a better head space and get a better sleep. If you want to try it with me here is the Bedtime Yoga Sequence.

Do you need some more convincing that you should try yoga? Check out The Blonde Vegan’s Why You Should Date a Girl Who Practices Yoga – not because you should date one (but maybe you should) but because it lists a lot of the benefits and things you can get out of a regular yoga practice.

Until next time ya’ll!

Leave a Reply

