This Vegan Pad Thai is So Good That Even the Biggest Meat Loving Guy (or Girl) Will Love It

IMG_2182

It is so much fun trying new recipes, especially recipes that you’ve never really tried before. For Tuesday’s I thought I would try something a little different and decided to go with a “No Chicken” Vegan Pad Thai recipe, and I have to say it was a huge winner. Mark, my meat loving fiance, loved it and went back for more. He even went so far as to say he would eat it again! Of course he did mention it would be great with chicken.

The recipe I found called for using that fake chicken stuff you can buy but I opted out of that. I don’t like to eat a lot of processed food and that kind of stuff just seems like the worst. Just my opinion though, you can check out the original recipe at Produce on Parade. Mark and I both woke up kinda hungry after this so it probably would be better to throw in some kinda protein in there. I added a ton more cashews (we didn’t have peanuts) to make up for the lack of chicken-like product – maybe we should have just eaten more!

This recipe was easy to make, didn’t take very long (maybe because Mark was kind enough to chop up all the veggies before I got home) and comes highly recommended!

IMG_2153

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 head of broccoli, florets only and chopped
  • 8 oz. dry stir-fry style rice noodles (I used Vermicelli)
  • 1/2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • red peppers, mushrooms, whatever other veggies you might want to throw in
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • fresh bean sprouts

Sauce

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 1 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • 1/8 tsp. garlic powder
  • sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes

Extras

  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • crushed peanuts

First things first, you gotta steam that broccoli, just until it turns a darker green (or if you like it mushier, go for it).

Then you cook your noodles. Follow the directions on the package and drain and set aside when done.

IMG_2156

Mix up your sauce in a small bowl until well mixed.

Then get out a big pan, or wok if you have one and fry up those mushrooms and peppers in some oil with the garlic, and any other veggies you may have decided to throw in there.

IMG_2162

When you’re veggies are tender add the broccoli, noodles, bean sprouts and green onions and toss over low eat until it’s all warm and coated.

IMG_2177

Top with crushed peanuts and Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “This Vegan Pad Thai is So Good That Even the Biggest Meat Loving Guy (or Girl) Will Love It

  1. I’m glad you liked it! We don’t often eat faux meat products, but sometimes it’s a nice little treat to indulge in. I do mostly like using alternatives such as nuts, etc. though 🙂 Cheers!

    1. I can see that! After a week of being vegan (and I did eat non-vegan cupcakes on the weekend) I am craving some of those vegetarian chili dogs my friend used to buy. Thanks for the recipe! Definitely one we’ll be keeping!

Leave a Reply

