Bean and Beet Burgers with Potato Wedges

Beans and beets, what more could a girl want to eat? Zucchini. That’s what.

I love zucchini and picked this recipe because they were originally Bean and Zucchini Cutlets which I got from Vegan Sandra, but I couldn’t find zucchini at the store so I figured I’ll use beets instead. After all, they are really good for you, but really, name a vegetable that isn’t.

I was actually impressed with how well these turned out, Mark even commented on how good they smelled, but he didn’t care to try it. I would make them again but this time I would try using chili powder instead of curry powder because I’m more of a Mexican kinda girl, but still these were delightful. A really great burger alternative that is super easy to make!

IMGP0118

INGREDIENTS

1 can of red kidney beans
1 can of beets – chopped
1 and a half onions – chopped
3 tsp of curry powder (or chili powder!)
3 tsp of veggie stock powder (I used vegetable seasoning)
1/2 cup of whole wheat flower
and then I threw in half a green pepper too – just for some colour!

Mash the kidney beans in a bowl, then chop up the onions and beets (after draining of course) and mix them in with the kidney beans, add your curry and veggie stock powder, throw in that green pepper and whole wheat and mix them all up!

Don’t be afraid to get in there with your hands! Once it’s all mixed up nice form them into patties – I got eight out of this recipe. I was impressed, I can freeze them and pull them out for a quick meal anytime.

Heat up some oil in a frying pan, enough so there’s a good sizzle when you throw your patties in there.

IMGP0126

When they are crispy on both sides they are good to go!

Serve as a burger, or in cutlet form as Vegan Sarah originally intended. Monday I ate them with roast potatoes wedges (it was delicious) and took them to work for lunch today with some bread and mustard in a burger form! **

**Note: I took two to work today for lunch and microwaved, they were a lot softer so they are best straight out of the frying pan but taste great anytime.

I’m sure there are tons of other great bean burger recipes out there, I’d love to hear your favourite!

IMG_2149

Mmmm…. Bean and Beet Burger with salad and roast potato wedges. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve got it bad for roast potatoes.

I make roast potatoes a lot and I have to say I have trouble with them sometimes, taking ages to cook or sticking to the pan or whatever, this time I used my fiance’s “pizza pan” which a double layered black baking sheet (seen below) and they turned out better than ever.

Simply chop your potatoes into wedges or chunks toss them in oil, sprinkle them with seasoning if you wish and pop them in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes, I didn’t even turn them. Don’t they look good?

IMGP0120

2 thoughts on “Bean and Beet Burgers with Potato Wedges

Leave a Reply

