Vegan Challenge Week 1 Meals

IMG_2182

Wanna know the first thing I did during my two weeks as a vegan?

Help myself to a milk chocolate biscuit. Oops.  Just goes to show that being vegan is more than just avoiding eggs, dairy and meat – you really have to be conscious of what is in the food your eating. I’ll just have to make myself some sort of sweet treat for those moments.

I found a lot of great (sounding) recipes and most of the meals I’ve picked for this week have been ones that I can easily turn into a non-vegan meal for my meat-a-tarian fiance. Whenever I tell him something new I want to try with my diet he’s looks at me in terror – I don’t have to eat that right? My answer is always no, I won’t make you stop eating meat and cheese.

For breakfast I always have a green smoothie with mixed greens, fruit, a banana, some flax seed, aloe vera juice if I have it, sometimes an avocado or almond milk. It’s really good and helps get those oh so good for you greens into your diet on those days you’re just not in the mood for a salad. Along with that I’ll have some toast with jam or oatmeal with cinnamon and sweetener.

Lunch will most likely be left-overs but I’ll be sure to keep salad stuff around I can add to it and I have some Pumpkin and Potato Soups in the freezer that I can always eat if I need something quick for lunch too.

Here is the week’s planned menu – of course things can always change:

Monday – Bean and Zucchini Cutlets with Roasted Potatoes

Tuesday – Vegan Pad Thai

Wenesday – Vegan Mac and No Cheese

Thursday – Slow Cooker Mexican Vegan Rice Bowl

Friday – Crunchy Cashew Thai Quinoa Salad with Ginger Peanut Dressing

Saturday – Orange “Chicken” Stir Fry

Sunday – Black Bean Fajitas

Do you know any good vegan recipes I should try?

Leave a Reply

