The Scale. Our Judge and Juror

Isn’t it funny that the scale is always the end judge and juror of our self worth. Well maybe that’s a little strong way of saying it but do you ever wake up and look in the mirror thinking ‘damn! Look at those abs!’ Or something to that extent then immediately rush to the scale to see if you’re down a few pounds?

Why is our self worth so tied in to our weight? The scale doesn’t measure muscle composition or body fat percentage. Why do we listen to it so much and let it make us feel good or bad about ourselves. What about something like being able to fit into an old pair of jeans that hasn’t fit in years or being able to run a 9 minute mile or finally being able to do ten push-ups in a row – shouldn’t we use those kind of things as milestones instead of some arbitrary number on the scale?

I’m guilty of it, even though I’ve decided it’s really not about losing weight for me – I think I look good! But still it would be nice if I got down to 135. Why? I don’t know it’s just a number I have in my head as being an ideal weight, for particular reason. Luckily I don’t get stuck on it though. I love to workout almost daily because it makes me feel so good, so energized, so alive. And yet it still comes back to the scale.

I do understand using the scale as a way to measure your progress when you are trying to get healthier and shed some pounds.

Leave a Reply

